Product Ratings

V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier

V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier produces visible, cool mist for the relief of cold and flu symptoms.
Average Customer Rating:
1.634 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 ratings)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
9
1 star
51
11 out of 71(15%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions. Vicks does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Ratings for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Rating 41 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sexton
Location: columbus, ga
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
okay
Date:April 1, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
i bought the humidifier and 2 weeks later it quit working the store will not replace it but overall its a good product.
Rating 42 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hickory
Location: Buffalo New York
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not the Greatest
Date:March 18, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
This product left a white residue all over the walls and furniture in my child's room. Would not recommend this product to anyone because of the hassle it created for me.
Rating 43 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stangman
Location: PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Very Disappointed!!!!
Date:March 11, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
This was our first FilterFree Vicks humidifier, but not our first Vicks humidifier. In fact we bought 3 of these at the same time. All three are noisy on the medium and high settings and have ticks and rattles but they do run ok on low. They put out so much mist (on low) that everything in the room within a 6 foot radius has a white film on it from the water. It even makes the carpet sticky. The directions say that when cleaning them, you should lay the motor housing on its side to prevent damaging the pick-up tube. However, from doing this, one of the units now rusts tight after every use, and I have to lift the motor housing off the tray, grab the pick-up tube and manually give it s spin to break it loose. And what a pain to clean. It probably takes me an hour to clean all three. Plus, in the vents where the mist comes out, the mineral deposits from our water are almost impossible to get out. It would be nice if the vents were removable so they could be cleaned properly. I've tried humidifier additive for minerals, but that doesn't seem to help. We've only had these things for 5 months, and I am so ready to trash them.
Rating 44 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aaron
Location: Anytown, USA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Email Opt in: No
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Impossible to Keep Clean
Date:March 10, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
This product is impossible to keep clean, even after following the cleaning instructions provided. It is a terrible design, and seems like it was designed to a be a "temporary" product, that has to be replaced after a short amount of time. I will be replacing with another brand.
Rating 45 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Miguel
Location: nj
Age: 25-34
Gender: Male
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
mold growth
Date:February 11, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
product works great but I can't figure out how to clean mold growth inside motor housing
Rating 46 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jrpage74
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Mold Factory
Date:February 9, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I purchased this due to its "5 star" rating from Vicks and the absence of a filter. I also thought the "Anti-Bacterial" filter would prevent bacteria. IT DOESN'T. I emptied every morning as directed. When I went to clean the first time, I was greated with pink bacteria and black mold up inside the main part of the hudifier, and all around the motor housing. I had to throw away. I wonder how much mold and bacteria my 4 month old son was able to breath thanks to this piece of garbage. I would definitely think Vicks rating would match the reviews. Vicks says "5 stars", customer consensus says "1.8 stars". This is very misleading and vicks should either show the review rating, or no rating at all on the product information page.
Rating 47 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sirigil
Location: Needham, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
quit after first month
Date:February 4, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
we tried to use this for our toddlers room - i wanted to buy the filter free humidifier (so you pay a bit extra) and this one died after a month.
i'd love to take it back to target but i didn't keep the receipt so i'm sure its my loss. i assumed i'd get at least one season out of it...but one month is a bit short.
tried all the 'help' questions on how to fix it but its still not working. i wish someone would create a consistent humidifier - i never remember my childhood humidifier breaking as often as these do now.
Rating 48 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bstars
Location: Dayton, OH
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Awesome Humidifier!
Date:January 7, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This is probably the best humidifier I've ever bought! I love not having to worry about the filter and it runs pretty quietly as well. I do wish it held more water, but its ok.
Rating 49 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Lebanon, PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not Worth the Money
Date:December 15, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
After finally deciding to purchase a higher priced humidifier during flu season, I found Vicks. At 79.99 at CVS, I thought this would do the trick, however I found after the first use, I could no longer see the steam. Also I have been running it non stop in a closed room hoping it would at least keep the bedroom humid for me to sleep. No, it has not. It seems to have stopped working and now I am out 80 dollars. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Rating 50 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nystarfire
Location: Liberty, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Don't buy this humidifier
Date:December 14, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Purchased Model # V4450 a little less than a year as it was on sale at Walmart. Opened it to use because I'm sick with the flu and the darn thing is broken. the tube that goes into the water reservoir does not stay connected to the unit. Really annoying, I have no receipt and I have no working humidifier. On top of which there is no toll free number to call Vicks. Big disappointment. What's a sick girl suppose to do? I sent an email, lets see how long it takes to get an answer.
Rating 51 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
trinas1
Location: Hebron, NE
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Horrible Purchase - Do not buy
Date:December 4, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Very disappointing product from Vicks. The humidifier smells after just a few hours of use and must be cleaned every few days. I have never (NEVER) had such a poor humidifer and use a one almost all day every day (even during the summer). We expeted much more from a Vicks product.
Rating 52 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rhea
Location: Spartanburg, S.C.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Date:October 3, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I purchased this humifier in July 2010, and had to stop using it due to the mold & mildrew build up in heating compartment that you cannot reach to clean.
I cleaned the unit daily removing the excess water, open the water tank and the heating unit and put it outside in the sun. I used vinger & water to clean throughly once a week.
I have used Vicks humifiers & vaporizers over the years, but this V4500 Filter Free Humifier was not cleaning friendly and bad for anyones health.
I wish I could get my money back that I lost on a poor Vicks product.
Rating 53 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CDMAY
Location: FL
Age: 18-24
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Date:September 10, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This customer did not provide a text review.
Rating 54 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dabanks
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: Male
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Never Again
Date:July 9, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I have purchased two of these machines within a two month period and both have been defective. I am not sure what the problem is. I know that I am in both humidifiers for $90 total. The first machine I experience a faulty seal on the water canister. The second as I was ready to use humidifire sparked and the motor seems to no longer run.
Rating 55 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jasey612
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Terrible Product!
Date:July 6, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Someone suggested to me to purchase a humidifier that did not have a filter...terrible mistake. This product is NOT worth the money. It goes the mold on the inside and you are unable to clean it! T E R R I B L E ! ! ! !
Rating 56 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ahill
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Not worth the money
Date:June 21, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
This product work well for one day. Every time thereafter the humidifer would make loud noise and vibrate a lot. Not very useful for a baby's room.
Rating 57 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gabi
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Dirty rooms and allergies
Date:May 11, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I bought this expensive humidifier filter free so it would save me the hassle of changing filters from previous one. This one makes all three bedrooms really dusty as it doesn't filter the CO water with lots of calcium and my kids have started coughing a lot since. The cleaning and maintanance of this product is extremely time consuming. I wouldn't recommend to anyone. Going back to filter humidifiers....
Rating 58 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CarrieH
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Date:May 10, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
This customer did not provide a text review.
Rating 59 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Michele
Age: 25-34
Gender: Female
Email Opt in: Yes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Made it hard to breath
Date:May 5, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
It left white powder all over my sons room. It made the air stale and I couldn't breath when I walked in. Had to stop usage after 3 days!!! WOULD LOVE TO GET MY MONEY BACK!
Rating 60 for V4500 Vicks FilterFree Humidifier
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Heather
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Very difficult to keep clean
Date:April 2, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
I was very happy in the beginning with the way that the product worked, but after using it for a while, it became very moldy. It was extremely difficult to clean. We took it apart, emptied the water and let it dry out every day and it still got very moldy. Even after regular cleaning, we have been unable to use it.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>